a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

another week bites the dust

leave a comment »

Monday turned into Tuesday turned into Wednesday before I got a chance to write anything down.

Ackihip, ackihop, acki whatever. Week 2 was over in no time. The first 5 days just flew by. Not a single tear was shed. If you’re wondering why I keep returning to the tears, it’s because I shed so many of them this time last year and I’m delighted this year seems to be going so much better cry-wise. Then came the weekend – and the tears. I’m not going to say much about them – Saturday was just one of those days where life seems difficult, nothing seems to be going your way and your boyfriend is ill. And to those of you wondering: yes, that can make you cry (and for further wondering: no, there haven’t been tears since).

2007 was a year “between worlds”. It was a year of beginning all over again; it was a year of new things. 2008 is different. 2008 is the year of “this is how it’s going to be for many, many years to come”. I try not to think that too often, but sometimes it just hits me. And to be honest it scares me a little.

As I told you last week had a deja vue moment. It was weird – and what was even weirder was that tables have suddenly turned. Around this time last year I sent an email to the friend that has now lost her job. We had both applied for the same job and casually I wrote “when do you think we’re going to hear anything from them?” in an email. She answered my email but not the question. I worried. A day or two later she sent an email with the subject “Forgot to answer your question”. By the subject alone I knew that she had heard from them. She had been in for an interview, she wrote. I cried my eyes out. Before I got the email we had been in the exact same situation and all of a sudden it seemed she was miles ahead of me. I cried some more. She got the job. Less than a month after graduating she had a job. I on the other hand was still writing applications en masse at home.

And now it’s a new year and a new January and I’m the one with the job and she’s at home writing applications. We’ve come a long way since this time last year and at the same time we’re kind of still there. Weird isn’t it?

Written by Drew

January 16, 2008 at 8:01 am

Posted in 2008

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

