a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

painfully embarrassing overreaction

leave a comment »

I was so tired last night I forgot to post this:

I’m tired – and should go to sleep. I shouldn’t be allowed out in the real world. I totally freaked this morning at work. I totally made a complete fool of myself this morning at work. I’ve spent a good deal of the rest of today apologising. Really – I have.

I misread an email and suddenly found myself believing the good, the fun, the best part of my job was being handed over to someone else. And that I was to find out through a FYI email as if they didn’t have the nerve to tell me in person. My boss was in a meeting so I couldn’t ask her if it was really happening. And then what do you do? I took my coat and phone and left the office to get 5 minutes of fresh air. It’s at this point you praise the fact that your office is just a stone’s throw away from the harbour, the water, the wind in your hair. I phoned my boyfriend and freaked for about 10 minutes before he told me to calm down. “I get why you’re freaking, but there’s nothing you can do but go back and talk to your boss about it,” he said. Why is he always right? I get to be right some day, right?

When my boss got back from her meeting, I approached her immediately wanting to know what was up. “I don’t know,” she said, “ask them.” Before I got around to asking anybody anything, my boss asked what the email had said – exactly. And you know what? I had kind of misread the thing. A lot. And my job (or parts of it) was in no way in danger. So I apologised to my boss and sent an email to the loving and understanding man that (inexplicably) spends most of his free time with me and told him I would pick up dessert on my way home from work as a kind of “and then we won’t discuss this things anymore, right?” Let’s see how that goes…

Bon weekend!

Written by Drew

January 19, 2008 at 1:31 pm

Posted in 2008

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

