a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

if only i had known this morning

leave a comment »

When I was shipped off to boarding school many, many years ago I remember one of the great things about going being able to take “art”. I remember my teacher and the way she wrote her e’s, I remember the girls in class, I remember our projects. Looking back some of my happiest memories revolve around those art classes.

This morning was inexplicably shitty. When I arrived at work my bad mood still hadn’t worn off and for the first time ever I didn’t greet my colleagues good morning – I just sat down at my desk and turned on the computer. Half an hour later I had returned to a fairly likeable person, one that my colleagues aren’t afraid of.

Back in January I signed up for a drawing class. It began two weeks ago, but I hadn’t been able to make class yet so tonight was going to be my debut. As I got home for work I was extremely close to skipping it. I even asked J if I could not go. He told me I had to go once (tonight) to see what it was like before skipping it.

And here I am. I’ve fooled around with pencils for two hours. No one complimented my drawing, but I ended up really liking it myself. And I sat next to the sweetest architect who shouted “see you next Thursday” when she saw me leaving.

In a couple of weeks I’ll return from drawing class fuming because once again I have been confronted with my lousy abilities to hatch, or I have been asked to draw something that just didn’t want to live on my piece of paper. But driving home tonight I was so happy and so relaxed and so pleased I signed up for this that I thought I might bake a cake and bring with me some Thursday along with paper and pencils.

Written by Drew

March 6, 2008 at 10:03 pm

Posted in 2008

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

