a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

in tune 1993, 1994, 1997

with one comment

Dire Straits: Brothers in Arms
1993. I’m at boarding school. One of my roommates has brought her stereo. The girls in the other rooms talk about our room being the best of all because we have the music playing at night while trying to sleep. There’s a compilation, Greatest something, and then there’s Dire Straits Brother’s in Arms. I listen to the latter when I’m alone. I lie on my bed, homesick – unbelievably homesick. When my roommates are around, we listen to I Will Survive. We dance around and sing along. But when I’m alone it is Dire Straits. At some point the girl with the stereo and I fall out. She forbids me to use her stereo. From then on there’s no music from the stereo when I’m alone and homesick – just me humming Your Latest Trick.

Soundtrack: Four Weddings and a Funeral
1994. I love the film, I love the soundtrack, I love Love is All Around. At a party I kiss a boy while we’re dancing to the song. This is the beginning of three years of shall we, shall we not? We take turns in maybe wanting something, but never at the same time. For the better part of the first year after our kiss, we hate each other. And I hate Love is All Around. I turn my back on Four Weddings and a Funeral and turn to Reality Bites instead. It takes years before listening to Love is All Around becomes if not pleasant than at least bearable.

Stan Getz: Getz au Go-Go
1997. Upon graduating from high school friends of my parents give me this cd. They tell me that all there cd’s were recently stolen and that this one was the first they went out and bought again. I know little – if anything – about Stan Getz. My friends and I take turns in giving parties two straight weeks to celebrate graduating. The cd becomes part of my getting ready ritual. The bathroom is right across from my room. If I turn up the stereo and keep the doors open, I can listen to the music while getting dressed and getting ready. For the first time in years my parents don’t come running telling me to turn down the music.

Written by Drew

March 9, 2008 at 3:26 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i am gonna show this to my friend, dude

    Cyrillawa

    March 24, 2008 at 8:25 am


Leave a Reply

