a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

i didn’t know

leave a comment »

My boyfriend played tennis for a couple of years when he was younger. I just found out today. And he has tennis trophies – or so he tells me, but I’m still not sure I believe it before I have seen them.

I have known J for more than five years. We have lived together for more than four. We have had an unknown number of conversations – in the beginning a lot of “getting to know each other” conversations and at some point switching to the “how was your day” conversations. If you asked me I would say that he is the person, apart from my parents, who knows me the best and I would think that the same thing goes the other way around as well.

“I’ve told you before,” J said to me, when I expressed my surprise. He might have, I just don’t remember. To me it’s new information and I am completely certain it isn’t something we’ve talked a lot about. If we had, I’d remember. If I had known he used to play tennis, I would have told him about my father and brother playing when I was a child, and about how I pretended to be the umpire and sat in the raised chair on the side of the court (and how I loved it). If I had known he used to play tennis, I would have suggested he’d play with my brother. If I had known he used to play tennis, I would have talked a lot more about my fascination with Wimbledon (the tournament, not the film). As I’m writing I’m wondering whether I’ve ever told him about that one summer I played tennis.

I guess we never completely get to know people, and I guess new information about the people we think we know well will always surprise us. There’s always a scar you don’t know how they got; there’s always a childhood memory you have yet to hear. And at one and the same time I’m surprised J didn’t tell me about his tennis days earlier and thankful I got another little bit of inside information about the man I love.

Written by Drew

March 20, 2008 at 10:57 am

Leave a Reply

