a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

today’s random thoughts

leave a comment »

1. Returning to work after 10 days off = waking up at the sound of the alarm, lots of emails to be read and answered, and trying to remember what I do for a living. But I did hold back on the coffee and drank only one cup in honour of my goal #25.

2. I don’t like March, I don’t like early Easter. I’ve never liked March. Maybe it’s because I’m a February girl, but March is just such a long month and despite a handful of birthdays among family and friends, March is basically just a month of waiting for spring, feeling like screaming at the prospect of wearing woolly sweaters for yet another month, and regretting not buying new and warmer gloves when they were actually in shops. It’s been snowing daily for a week now and though the snow melts faster than I can count to 10, there is still a discrepancy between the snow outside and the bikinis in the stores. And I’m admitting that I like late Easter better than early Easter. You want sunny and warm weather and that spring feeling when you have a handful of days off, and March just doesn’t give you that – at least not this year.

3. Despite snow and rain, spring was definitely in the air today. My office window faces the canal and sometime after lunch I looked out my window and saw two people – a boy and a girl – sitting by the canal talking (warmly dressed, naturally) in the sun. At first I thought they were having a first date or something. Sat close, but not too close, and looked intensely and interested at the each other. But then she hugged him in a way that made me imagine him having just broken up with a girlfriend and her listening to him and comforting him, telling him “others will come along.”

      Written by Drew

      March 25, 2008 at 5:00 pm

      Posted in 2008

      Tagged with , , , ,

      Leave a Reply

