a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

so far

leave a comment »

Exactly a year ago today, I sent out two applications for temporary jobs (one six months, one 10 months.) J read both applications and told me he thought the one for the six months job was the best. I heard from them weeks later when they sent out the usual “thank you for applying, we got 100+ applications and you weren’t one of the ones, we wanted to see.” The 10 months job? That one I ended up getting. My first real job.

The job hunt was part of what made 2007 difficult. Not knowing when unemployment would be over haunted me and made my days long and quite often tearful. Some people offered me everything’s going to be okay’s and told me to enjoy the plentiful free do with it whatever you want-time which employed people seem to think unemployed have on their hand. And some people told me being a childless girl in my late twenties in a stabile relationship would make employers look the other way. People around me seemed to be optimistic or pessimistic – never in-between.

The past week has had both ups and downs – with some in-between. A year ago I thought a job would mean a lot less downs, but I’ve realised along the way that once the I don’t have a job downs disappear, other downs show up. They aren’t necessarily major like the one I left behind last year, but they are still there. I don’t know if this is how people are in general, but I think it goes for me that once I cross of what’s on top of my list, I might be happy for a little while, but then I slowly forget I was happy and start moaning about the things I have yet to achieve.

So far 2008 has at the same time been both fun and unbearable – just like last week, just like most weeks. 2008 is okay so far, but I wouldn’t define it as great. I am, however, optimistic that it will be. I want it to be. It has to be. It’s going to be.

It’s going to be…

Written by Drew

April 13, 2008 at 2:50 pm

Posted in 2008

Tagged with , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

