a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

low point

leave a comment »

Last night while I ate, I starting watching The Holiday. I am only telling because I trust you will not judge me, because I believe you can handle this piece of information.

At some point Kate Winslet’s character Iris tries to kill herself instead of making tea, and when she realises what she’s doing, she utters “low point, LOW POINT!”

Low point pretty much sums up my life at the moment. Everything is on hold while J writes the final words of his dissertation. A long time ago we took deep breaths and decided we wanted to get through this. We are nearly there, but it is of vital importance that we get there soon as I am running out of air – and I am not the only one.

Except for my parents who show up occasionally, I can’t remember when the last time was that we had people over – not for dinner, but for anything. These past months have been all about cooking things which are easily reheated so that supper doesn’t require us actually being in the same room at the same time. I have tried to make the most of the evenings and weekends on my own. I have worked late, seen friends, blogged. And I have benefited from our rather large collection of DVDs. And until recently it was great, but I am so fed up with watching the ones worth watching more than once that last night I resorted to the seasonal films. You can close your eyes for a minute or two, but the sentence is still there when you open them again. There you have it: I resorted to the seasonal films.

And so I sat in my living room – my lovely sun filled living room, my lovely spring filled and no trace of Christmas living room – and ate pizza (homemade which makes it a little more okay) and watched The Holiday. And when Kate Winslet uttered “low point, low point”, I wondered if she was actually talking to me and hid my face a little and looked around to see if anyone was watching, but thankfully I was the only witness.

Written by Drew

May 5, 2008 at 5:38 pm

Posted in 2008

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

