a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

swim baby, swim

with one comment

I like the feeling of being isolated in a bubble. The feeling you experience when you dive into water, close your eyes and register that sounds are strangely different from when you’re above the water. I like that swimming isn’t a sport that calls for being social; it is a sport that allows you to be just you.

From 5 to 15 I tested a number of sports. Gymnastics, badminton, tennis, basket ball. At school I realised athletics were not for me, and even though I have tried many times running just isn’t my thing. All in all there are only two sports I have been doing consistently. One is aerobic which I did in my last school years and in my early twenties, the other is swimming which I have done all my life.

In a land with a 7000 kilometre coastline, my mother thought it vital to learn how to swim. The only sport she has ever pushed me towards was swimming. I never competed. The one time I tried, I lost, got in 4th, and spent quite some time feeling the bronze was robbed from me as the girl who got in 3rd used a hand and a foot when turning instead of two hands and should have been disqualified. It didn’t help that she was a frenemy.

To me swimming is a kind of meditation. I am not a regular swimmer, but the minute my body touches the water I feel as if I come home. I go because it’s good exercise for a bad back, but once I am there I remember how soothing and relaxing swimming is. I don’t have to think when I swim, unable to clear my mind I start counting my strokes, often I do it without even thinking about it.

+++

I dive in; I push through the water, the taste and smell of chlorine kicks in. I push off the wall and flow the first few meters; I see the backstroke flags and know I am on my way. When I see them again, I know the turn is right before me.

I am tired and feeling used when I get out of the water. I shower and wash my hair. I can’t keep the thoughts from invading my head any longer. Work starts to creep in, I wonder at what time I can be there.

+++

I race off on my bike. I don’t even think I say goodbye. I am angry and hurt and just want to get away. I am still at the old job. A colleague of mine has been a moron, told me off in front of the other people at my office, used me to make herself look better. I shake my head. I am unable to see what is up and what is down. I try to rethink the events of the day, but I can’t. I am too angry.

I push off, I start counting. 1-2-3-4-5-6. I concentrate on counting. The anger tries to creep in, but I focus on counting and slowly I loosen up. Everything is going to be alright.

+++

It isn’t surprising that swimming soothes and comforts and makes things better. Technically we swim before we walk. Linus has a blanky, I have my swimming.

Written by Drew

June 12, 2008 at 4:05 pm

Posted in 2008

Tagged with , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Like swimming for you, running is my therapy. It helps me work out whichever emotion is consuming me.

    Katie

    June 12, 2008 at 8:42 pm


Leave a Reply

