a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

the kind of weekend it hasn’t been in a while

leave a comment »

If I had known what a great weekend this would be, I would have looked forward to it some more. For the first time in ages J was actually at home and we did things – together.

Yesterday we grocery shopped together, decided what to cook together. And in the afternoon we took the train up north and saw an exhibition. And while we walked through the fantastic sculptures of Giacometti and the even more stunning paintings of his, and afterwards when we walked around the section showing modern museum architecture, we talked and listened to each other and for the first time in ages, we were the kind of partners I have always loved that we are: The kind that want to see the same things, that enjoy the same things. The kind that have so much in common, but also have that tiny difference in our likes and dislikes which makes the conversations interesting and gives you the feeling that these conversations always brings you new knowledge, show you things from another perspective.

After months of having limited time together, I need to adjust to us having all the time in the world. When we eat, I find myself hesitating wondering if it’s okay that I tell one more story. For months I have been on careful lookout for the “I am sorry, but I don’t have time, I am not really present, I am thinking about my PhD” look in J’s eyes. As we sat this morning talking and eating almond croissants, it suddenly hit me that even though we have had our share of Sunday croissants while J was working on the dissertation, I can’t remember the last time we left the table because we had finished talking and not because J needed to work.

I am wondering whether it isn’t so much the weekend as it’s the company and what you do that make the weekend. The past couple of months I have shown up at work Monday morning exhausted and ready for another weekend right away. It isn’t that I wouldn’t love another weekend starting tomorrow if I was offered one, but I feel more relaxed and ready to face next week than I have in ages. And that’s even before I have had a cup of coffee and a piece of the peach pie waiting in the kitchen.

Written by Drew

June 29, 2008 at 8:00 pm

Posted in 2008

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

