a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

14 weeks, 2 days

leave a comment »

The constant hunger has worn off. The impatience has set in. I want a belly and I want it now. I have something that looks vaguely like I have eaten too much, but nothing that’s worth showcasing. On one hand I am looking forward to maternity clothes and on the other freaking out at the thought of having to put most of my wardrobe away and not have enough money to buy sufficiently clothes to make me happy from now on and until June.

A colleague of mine told another colleague about my pregnancy today. “I thought about it last Friday. She was pale as a ghost and sporting a tiny bump,” the colleague said when she heard. Pale as a ghost! Do you know how many people have told me that recently? As if it is positive even for a pregnant person? I am not stupid, so I know “pale as a ghost” isn’t the same as that special pregnancy glow people talk about.

Christmas is coming up. My mum won’t be baking the traditional Christmas cake so I am allowing myself to indulge in marzipan, chocolate and saffron buns. And since the Christmas duck will have to go down with only sips of wine (if J allows me), I am planning to eat my weight in stewed curly cale and red cabbage. In a fortnight I have two weeks off to do all this.

Written by Drew

December 8, 2008 at 6:59 pm

Posted in 2008, Pregnancy

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

