a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

the new year so far

leave a comment »

Cup of tea

Good thing I didn’t rename this site “a divine 2009” because that would probably have meant me spending the first week of the year being even more ill than I have. And that, I can’t even imagine.

(In the autumn of 1993 when I was 14 years old and away at boarding school and missing my parents terribly, I caught a cold – just days before midterm and my long awaited fortnight back home. After a week of that cold my mother took me to the doctor who said nothing was wrong. After 11 days of that cold she took me again and I learned a new word: pneumonia. And no, I don’t have pneumonia this time around and this cold and these past days have not been as bad as in 1993 but it is up there.)

What annoys me about this cold is that 2009 did indeed take of so beautifully:

I FELT THE BABY! I FEEL THE BABY!

After almost 18 weeks of waiting (6 of which I had no idea what was going on inside of me), I felt the baby. We communicate. The tiny being living inside of me is making bubbles and punching me in the stomach. (Punching may be too strong a word for some but I bet this 19 cm thing thinks it is punching – and I do too.)

I enjoy being pregnant at the moment. I love my belly and that there is now an actual bump when I am lying down and that my husband wants his hand on my belly all the time. I have signed up for birthing class and bought maternity pants. I have put aside more than a third of the clothes in my closet (which were mainly summer’s clothes anyway) and unaware of it I place my hand on my stomach for protection, warmth and love all the time.

So maybe I have a cold and it’s rough but it’s good times at the moment, good times.

Written by Drew

January 12, 2009 at 7:35 pm

Posted in 2009, Photos, Pregnancy

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

