a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

due

leave a comment »

Today is my due date. I don’t know if it is fair to say that there is no sign of labour approaching, because I honestly don’t know what and how to feel. And if you told me how you felt, I would roll my eyes and give you the “well, not two births are alike” speech that I have gotten pretty good at practicing recently.

I feel fine. I don’t feel one bit like someone who’s about to go through a lot of hard work. Instead I feel like someone who has a VERY tough fortnight in front of her. I feel like someone whose baby won’t come out until the midwife drugs my body to (r)eject it. And to be honest, the 20th of June seems a little far away – especially for someone who has just checked her email and seen 8 emails from girls from her birthing class who have already given birth. Thank God they all had due dates before me.

The weekend is great though. It is a long one, and everything seems so much easier with J around. We have been watching Mad Men and getting more things ready for the baby – for instance we began this morning by spending an obscene amount of money on something which we are most likely to throw away before June has turned to July because it is just to awful for any of us to accept as a piece of furniture in our apartment.

Today is my due date. I am ready for contractions and a couple of days in hospital. What I am not ready for is a fortnight of waiting.

Come out, come out, whoever you are. We promise to love you…

Written by Drew

June 6, 2009 at 3:43 pm

Posted in 2009, Pregnancy

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

