a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

the first year

leave a comment »

Dear J,

One year and two days. Sunday was our one year anniversary. The weather was beautiful, just the kind you hope for on your wedding day – all sun, no rain.

So much has happened this past year and yet it all comes down to one thing: G. This year the 23rd of August wasn’t about us. It was about her. As my mother texted me in the morning: “Congratulations on your wedding day. It has indeed been a great first year for you”. It has, it really has. Our baby girl is two and a half months old and she is thriving. The past year has been all about her. She was with us at the wedding and on our honeymoon even though she wasn’t conceived yet. Even from before we found out she was on her way, it has been all about her. I don’t mind. I don’t think you mind. I don’t know what other people do during their first year of marriage, but you and I skipped the extensive travelling, buying a new home, working like mad to pay the wedding debt off that others may do (?). Instead we watched my stomach grow, listened to a tiny heart beat and in the end welcomed the most beautiful and perfect baby girl we could ever have imagined.

This past weekend you and I had been together for seven years. Seven years ago at the beach, me in a blue and white striped dress, we began our life together. If you had asked me back then what my life would look like seven years later, I don’t know what I would have answered. It doesn’t really matter either. In many ways the life we live is nothing like I thought it would be. Some things take longer than you imagine, some things don’t come at your whistle, but we have had seven great years together.

On Sunday evening we ate the last of our wedding cake. G was in bed and sound asleep and we sat at the dining table with cake and espresso. I think we were both a little tired.

Five minutes before midnight we danced our first dance as husband and wife. The rain stopped. We kissed and people cheered. Five hours later we went to bed exhausted and tired. The warmth from your body seemed different. That is the way it is. Things feel different though in reality not much in our everyday life has changed. You are still you and I am still me, but we are husband and wife. Husband and wife – I like the sound of it. A lot.

We went to bed just after 10pm. The warmth from your body was familiar and safe. That is the way it is. The warmth from your body feels the same even though so much has changed. You are still you and I am still me, we are still husband and wife, but we have become parents. Father and mother – I like the sound of it. A lot.

Much, much love (yesterday, today, tomorrow, forever!)

Your wife, your daughter’s mother

Written by Drew

August 25, 2009 at 8:20 am

Posted in 2009

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

