a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

sleep

leave a comment »

Dear Mum,

Remember a couple of weeks ago when I surprised you and dad by waking up at 6:30am after having gone to bed at 9:30pm? Do you remember? Do you remember how good you felt in the morning and how you spent the next many days wondering if I would do it again (which I didn’t – instead I started waking up at 3 instead of 4 for my night snack)?

The thing is: I don’t think you remember, because if you remembered you would have slept last night when I slept. I gave you the chance of sleeping more than seven hours without being woken up, but you decided to stay awake between 3 and 4:30. You may think: I hope she sleeps through the night again tonight, but I am not so sure. I am only eleven weeks old, and who knows when I will sleep through the night again? Let last night be a lesson: Sleep when you can (I do).

Much love

BOM

***

Dearest BOM,

Your mother is SO stupid. Being awake when you are sleeping through the night is about the stupidest thing one can do. I completely understand why you spent half an hour this morning telling me off (but how I love your babbling). And I am well aware that you might punish me later today when all I dream off is a nap by not wanting to sleep for more than 20 minutes at a time. I completely understand. One must be punished for one’s stupidities, I am no exception.

And the really awful thing is that I have waited for this night ever since you did it last time (at which point I had waited for it since your birth) a couple of weeks back. Not only because it is so lovely with seven straight hours of sleep, but because sleeping through is something that your friends don’t do yet so it makes you kind of special and gives me a chance to brag about you. “She sleept through the night this week,” I would say and smile and all the other mothers would turn and look at you and in their eyes were written “If only I could have a baby like her for a night, just one night, I am not asking for more”.

I am aware of my responsibilities. Never fear that. When you want milk tonight, I will give you milk, but you can’t take my hopes and dreams of another night with you sleeping through in the near future from me. I am after all only human.

I love you – sleeping through the night or not

Mum

***

Dear Mum,

I will see what I can do. Milk tastes awfully good though so I am thinking I will go back to the night snack for a little while. Alright with you?

Anyway, you seem to have learned your lesson. When I sleep, you sleep. So what are you doing now btw?

Much love

BOM

Written by Drew

August 26, 2009 at 6:48 am

Posted in 2009

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

