a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

that day

leave a comment »

Dear J,

It’s Valentine’s Day. This is our seventh Valentine’s Day together. Seventh. And it is the first one we celebrate with our little one. No cuddling in bed (morning sex? Forget about it), no reading the paper in bed, no sleeping half an hour longer. Instead it is up and to it. She is sweet, though, and I wouldn’t trade her for the world even if I could.

I am not a fan of Valentine’s. You know that. I am all “it’s phony, isn’t it?” And I mean it when I say that I would rather have flowers on any other day than this one day where florists across the world are ready to let you pay for red roses that – on this day only – cost the same as this Tiffany ring I would rather have. However, if you get me flowers, I will smile. After all, I am human.

I don’t think I have ever gotten you anything. That is probably bad, but I don’t think you have ever gone to bed on the 14th of February thinking: Why didn’t she get me something?

But it is different this year. You’re getting all my love. And this:

I am sorry those cookies look nothing like the photo. But I am happy you made me smile in the midst of all my misery by making a heart out of the runny dough. It was ages ago, but I just found this photo and if I was crafty and into Valentine’s, I would make this into a Valentine’s card for you.

Be my Valentine?

All my love,

Drew

Written by Drew

February 14, 2010 at 10:41 am

Posted in 2010

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

