a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

hello march

leave a comment »

One, two, three, four. Fourth of March and no word from me yet. Oops.

31 is great so far. The girl woke up at 5am on Saturday morning = so did we. Presents in bed is always nice, but even nicer when your husband gives you theatre tickets and dinner at a Michelin restaurant in the near future. AND has already arranged the babysitting. Friends and family gave me lots of Clinique products which was just what I wanted. And as an extra present, J made me this:

We spent Saturday evening celebrating someone else’s birthday. One of our good friends turned 50 and threw a party. When we received the invitation I was a little pissed the party was on my birthday, but it turned out to be great. My parents did the babysitting (and the girl behaved herself), and J and I got a night of good company, good food and dancing to live music.

The girl didn’t wake up until 6am Sunday morning which was nice given that we had gone to bed at 1:30am. J gave me two extra hours of sleep and after a quick shower and some breakfast I made this:

In the afternoon my family came and ate most of it. Then we cleaned up, made some dinner, put the girl to bed, watch a bit of 30 Rock and went to bed.

When we woke up it was March.

I usually hate March. It is long, my birthday has just been and Christmas is not even on the horizon. But this year March is different. March is my last month of maternity leave, and March is the month in which my daughter will get a passport so she can travel to Provence with her parents in a couple of weeks.

Provence. Provence. Provence. (Just in case you didn’t get it the first time…)

8 days of France, of grocery shopping, of doing nothing and eating lapin. I cannot wait.

In the meantime, I am enjoying the sunshine, a cup of coffee and a croissant amandes.

Maybe March will be okay after all.

Written by Drew

March 4, 2010 at 9:09 am

Posted in 2010

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

