a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

2

leave a comment »

2!

Two years ago, 12:43, I gave birth to a baby girl. My baby girl. Our baby girl.

Two years ago, 12:43, I set out on a journey. It’s been tough and I have looked back at the days before setting out, but I have never regretted. I have cried and gone away to hide. I have been tired and felt utterly helpless. But I have never regretted.

Two years ago, 12:43, I watch my husband beam with pride and an hour later I heard him tell me her name, the only name suitable for her, the name I chose.

Today, my baby girl is gone. Big girl is here to stay. Opinions are here to stay. Tantrums are here to stay. But so are adventures and wet kisses and the feeling that no matter what I do this girl loves me – endlessly, just as I do her.

Today, I watched my girl at daycare. I watched her friends celebrate her. I watch her eat homebaked bread and strawberries and melon. And I felt her hand holding mine, pinching my arm, as if she couldn’t really believe that it was all about her.

I don’t remember last year, but today feels so very special. Today brings tears to my eyes, today makes me as hormonal as I was in the summer of 2009. Today is my girl’s birthday. Today, my girl turns two. She has so many more birthdays to come, so many more strawberries and songs, but today still feels special.

Today she is two. The terrible twos. But I love her, I love her with all my heart.

Tillykke lille pige!

Written by Drew

June 10, 2011 at 12:00 pm

Posted in 2011

Leave a Reply

