a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

2011

leave a comment »

Happy New Year. I hope you rang in 2012 just like you dreamed of all year. My 2012 got off on a funny foot. I baked banana muffins without banana and forgot the raisins when I did my apple crumble. The first is way weirder tasting than the second. I now plan to spend the rest of 2012 improving my baking skills.

2012. I like the sound of it. Not least because I was eager for 2011 – the year of the arse – to end, but also because 2012 is the year of 18 working days until maternity leave and come March the year of child number two and come July the year of having been with the best man in the world for 10 (!!!!!!!!!!!) years. 2012 is also the year of turning 33 which seem to be old in my book and a little daunting, but by the time it happens (February 27th), I am counting on being so huge I don’t give a damn about my birthday, I just want the baby OUT! NOW!

The kids out there have a yearly tradition with looking back at the year that went and I am thinking “why not?” So here’s 2011 for you:

(Thanks to Sundry for starting the tradition way back)

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?

Drank Veuve Cliquot 1988.  It wasn’t anything special, the wine we had later was way better, but it was still a first for me vintage champagne-wise – and hopefully won’t be my last…

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I’ve never been much of a resolution maker. Every year I want certain things to change, and every year I realise that they won’t – at least not to the extent I want them to – and that I am actually quite happy anyway. 2012 will be the same.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Yes. Two of my closest friends welcomed children. One had a boy last January, the other a girl in June. Other friends gave birth as well (I think, it might have been in 2010), but these two were the best ones.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Thankfully no.

5. What countries did you visit?

Norway, Sweden, Spain.

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?

Less tears and less sleepless nights (because of work that is, because 2012 will have plenty of sleepless nights, I am after all not that naive)

7. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

24th of December. We had the best Christmas ever and my girl walked around the tree holding her parents’ hands and singing with us, her eyes the size of teacups and totally smiling and beaming.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Keeping my job, becoming pregnant, not going insane, staying together with my husband despite my near-insanity.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Not being able to sleep for so many autumn nights, not being able to calm down, breathe slowly and take everything one step at a time with less worry.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

My back was worse than it has been for years. I know why and unless I want it to be the same in the years to come, I need to make some changes in the coming year.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

I haven’t a clue.

12. Where did most of your money go?

Mortgage.

13. What did you get really excited about?

The prospect of becoming a mother for the second time.

14. What song will always remind you of 2011?

A song our daughter picked up from kids TV, she sings it constantly.

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:

– happier or sadder? I don’t know. I think I was happy this time last year. It wasn’t until mid January that things began to tumble, but I am very happy right now with this second child aboard and only 18 days to go at work.
– thinner or fatter? Fatter. About 13 kilos of baby, but I hope to lose those this spring.
– richer or poorer? Richer – not only money wise, but also just in general.

16. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Been generally happy. Sleep.

17. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Worry. Work when I ought to sleep.

18. How did you spend Christmas?

With my brother, his wife, their two children, my parents, my husband and my daughter. It was the best Christmas I have – perhaps – ever had and I can’t wait to have another one like it. I also can’t wait to welcome a little brother/sister/cousin to my family. There is so much love from both young and old, it would be wasted if we didn’t expand our family.

19. What was your favorite TV programme?

I fell in love with Downton Abbey and continued to love 30Rock. My real love though, the one that just kept on growing this year, is news paper news. Half an hour on the sofa with my paper is worth millions and cannot be beaten by any TV programme however funny or British or new it is. I am old-fashioned (hey, let’s talk epidurals…)

20. What were your favorite books of the year?

Julian Barnes: The Sense of an Ending.

21. What was your favorite music from this year?

Swedish artist Tomas Andersson Wij who was recommended to me by a dear, dear colleague. And then Sinne Eeg and Stacey Kent because those women never seize to amaze me with their voices.

22. What were your favorite films of the year?

Did we go to the cinema? I can’t remember. Yes, we did. I remember. We watched Potiche just after finding out I was pregnant. It was good, but not Ozon as I like him and I sat in the dark longing for the days of Swimming Pool, Huit Femmes and 5×2. Was it this year that we watched The Squid and the Whale on DVD? If it was it was good, but it might have been 2010. We seemed to be watching TV shows rather than films when we watch things.

What I really remember is the meal we ate on our wedding anniversary where I turned down the unpasteurised cheese much to the waiter’s dismay (I only do this when I am pregnant and the comte my husband ate smelled so delicious I can still recall it), but great meals aren’t included on this list.

23. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

32 and I probably had cake. I got a flash for the camera from my husband and though it took me almost a year to start using it, I had loads of fun when I finally did.

24. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Fewer changes at work.

25. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?

I don’t have a personal fashion concept. For the better part of the year I was a jeans and shirt kind of girl, for the last part of it I was a if it fits kind of girl. I am already planning for it to be WAY different when I return from my maternity leave and yet still know that my personal fashion concept of 2024 will be much like it was in the beginning of 2011.

26. What kept you sane?

My husband’s arms around me at night when I couldn’t sleep.

27. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011.

Being a mother and being pregnant with a second child makes the crappiest of situations worth living.

Written by Drew

January 3, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Posted in 2012

Leave a Reply

