a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

with 2 comments

Baby E

Baby E.

He’s brand new, not even a month yet, and at the same time it feels as if he’s been around forever.

Tonight at 9pm it’s four weeks since my contractions began. We had been watching In Treatment and just as we turned off the TV they began. 4 hours and 37 minutes later we were the proud parents of a baby boy. 9 hours after the first contraction, we returned to the apartment with our giant boy.

During the past four weeks we have seen weight gain, weight loss, breastfeeding problems, breastfeeding triumphs, sleep deprivation. And in the midst of it, the girl began kindergarten. Goodbye daycare with children under the age of three where my girl is one of the oldest and hello kindergarten where she is the youngest and where the big kids are very BIG.

I am sure I expected something completely different, but I am happy with what I got and what we have. I am just trying to go with the flow and see how we develop – all of us – every day. This week we have been out and about and it feels great. Even though it’s just a trip to the supermarket to get milk, it feels like an adventure, and getting out of the house again is wonderful (the first three weeks were basically sore nipples and breastfeeding non stop).

Days are still chaotic and my level of tiredness in the evening scares me, but the sun is shining and tomorrow he is four weeks old, and I have decided that we’re keeping him. He’s too good to give away…

Written by Drew

April 20, 2012 at 9:50 am

Posted in 2012

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations, Drew. I can’t believe how quick his birth went! Now your lovely girl has a little brother – that’s brilliant! It sounds like it has been a whirlwind month, but I hope it is a lovely whirlwind all in all. Especially because peeks into the lives of mothers are particularly meaningful to me now – I found out I’m pregnant three days ago.

    I’m not allowing myself to get too excited yet or look too far forward. It’s taken me over three years to conceive. The problem with reading the internets is it can give a glimpse into other people’s bad experiences and make you realize just how tenuous this conception-pregnancy-birth cycle can be.

    keeniebeanie

    April 26, 2012 at 11:54 am

    • Thank you! And congratulations to you as well. Pregnancy is a wonderful thing, not least when it’s something you dream of, long for and really, really want.

      Drew

      April 30, 2012 at 11:36 am


Leave a Reply

