a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

November

leave a comment »

It’s November and it’s Friday. The boy is sleeping. We are going out later, but for now he’s sleeping and I have indulged in decent breakfast, tea and the paper.

It’s November already. In less than three months I go back to work. I can’t believe it. I was naive and wanted to do so many things, but I guess I got ’round to doing the most important: taking care of my boy.

It’s November. The past six weeks have been rough. I spent three weekends with the kids at my parents’ house because J was either away from home or painting the apartment (we have to sell at some point, the bedroom is way too crowded). We don’t see much of each other and when we do we need to figure out how to make everyday life work. Last weekend we drove to the other end of the country to celebrate J’s father’s 70th birthday, this weekend we’re going to celebrate my mother and the weekend after that we’re going to some family thing with J’s family. I’ll excuse for the lack of enthusiasm, but what I really need is some time with my family – MY family. The man I chose, the children I birthed. Not everyone else. We’re spending Christmas with J’s parents this year and I must admit that I quite often find myself wishing we were spending Christmas at home just the four of us. I don’t need lots of people at the moment, I need only three. And I know that I will be cranky when asked to share my kids, to not act like a family, to sit back and watch hands in my lap, but there you go.

It’s November. I need to start looking for a new job. It’s fine that I have the old one to return to, but I really need to find something new. I need a boost of energy work wise and I doubt I will find that unless I find something else to do. The road is rocky and the times are tough. I know, I know, but I have to try. My main goal for 2013 is to find a new job.

It’s November. It’s cold and I’m nursing a cold. The leaves are falling off the trees and the dark tightens its grip around the day.

***

It’s November. We drink hot chocolate and eat apples. The girl is happy, the boy is too. They interact with each other. She loves that he wants to squirm his way everywhere she goes, and she loves that he wants to lie at the foot of her chair, while she’s eating. He loves to eat when she’s eating and he loves to just watch her. She constantly whispers “I love you little brother” and “you’re my best friend”, and she kisses him – even if rather often a bit too rough. I pray that they will continue to love each other, to want each other, even though their relationship will change through the years.

It’s November and my mood isn’t always the best, but there are many things to be thankful for and I am so grateful for having them.

Written by Drew

November 2, 2012 at 9:47 am

Posted in 2012

Leave a Reply

