a great 2008

– which echoes in 2009 and further on

#1: New job

leave a comment »

I don’t really want to write about it, and it’s so obvious, I doubt anyone will need an explanation, but it would look weird going through my list and then skipping this one – specially since it’s my number 1.

I hope to find a new job this year. I have been in my current position for 5 years and it’s time to move on. I believe in moving on and I believe that you won’t make the most of your experience from a job before you move on to the next.

BUT (there’s always a but)

It isn’t really the best of times to find a new job. Many are looking and the jobs are few compared to just a couple of years ago. During my darkest days last autumn I figured that I would only be happy if I found a new job – a day job – I figured my happiness depended on what I do for a day job. Then I stumbled upon an interview with Sarah Kay:

”Find room in your life to do the thing you love. It doesn’t have to be the thing you make money doing. It doesn’t have to be your career or what pays your rent. You just need to have it. If it is what you get paid for, that’s awesome too. But you can be an amazing poet who also has a day job. Plenty do. It doesn’t take anything away from your art or the joy that you get from doing it. In some places in the Middle East, they acknowledge that everyone is (or could be) a poet. Your plumber is a poet, the school teacher, the fireman down the street. I like this immensely. It doesn’t make being a poet less special, it makes it more relevant.”
(Sarah Kay)

Don’t get me wrong. I don’t want to be a poet and I don’t hope to make it my day job, but it kind of opened my eyes to the fact that yes, I want another job and the faster the better, but if I can’t find a new day job then it’s up to me to find another job, something that makes me happy, something that makes up for the fact that I’m stuck and can’t find a new job. Whether it’s blogging or exercising or writing with a pen on a real piece of paper, it has to be something that makes me happy, something that gives me something to look forward to.

On top of my list is still finding a new job, but if that proves difficult then I’ll rephrase and say: “Find room in my life for something that makes up for not being able to get a new job”.

Written by Drew

January 10, 2013 at 9:28 am

Posted in 2013

Leave a Reply

